Stop everything and check out Childish Gambino Feat. Beck- “Silk Pillow”

photo courtesy of Stereogum

Yes, that’s Beck rapping on the beginning of this Childish Gambino track. It’s been ages since we’ve heard any kind of work like this from Beck. Great collaboration, and hope for some more like this, soon.

“Silk Pillow” Childish Gambino Feat. Beck


Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

New video from El-P “The Full Retard”


From the song to the visuals, all around to the editing, El-P has delivered a dope music video for “The Full Retard”, from his recently released album Cancer 4 Cure. Be sure to watch the whole thing…
Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

M83 with new video, more like a short film, “Reunion”


Yes, it’s definitely a very entertaining video, and at times I forgot that I was watching a music video… had to remind myself I was sill in the office. For a few quick minutes of escape, watch the new video for “Reunion” from M83.

Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

Amazing Sound! The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band “Devil’s Look Like Angels”

Down right grungy country-blues, is how I would describe the sound of the new song from The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band, or better yet their sound all together. This summer they will release their fifth album called Between The Ditches. “Devil’s Look Like Angels” is a great song to begin the summer with, as I imagine blaring it by the bbq, and slow-roasting a tri-tip. The album will be out August 7, and catch them at a show near you this summer (see below for tour dates)… and watch the bad ass video from a couple of years ago at Vans Warped Tour 2010…its ridiculous!

Thu, May 31 Minneapolis, MN – The Brick (with Flogging Molly)
Fri, June 1 Omaha, NE – Sokol Auditorium (with Flogging Molly)
Fri, June 8 Lawrence, KS – The Granada
Sat, June 9 Columbia, MO – Mojo’s
Fri, June 15 Rochester, MN – Hambone Festival
Fri, June 22 Hamilton, OH – Paddlefest
Tue, June 26 Buffalo, NY – Tralf Music Hall
Wed, June 27 Harrisburg, PA – Appalachian Brewing Company
Thu, June 28 Hartford, CT – The Russian Lady
Fri, June 29 Burlington, VT – Nectar’s
Sat, June 30 Plymouth, NH – The Flying Monkey
Sun, July 1 Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl
Tue, July 3 McGaheysville, VA – Summer Jam at Massanutten Resort
Thu, July 5 Aspen, CO – Snowmass Village Jazz Aspen Snowmass
Fri, July 13 Cincinnati, OH – Sawyer Point Bunbury Fest w/ Jane’s Addiction
Sat, July 14 Ferndale, MI – DIY Street Fair
Fri, July 20 Hutchinson, MN – River Song Music Festival
Fri, July 27 Jackson, WY – Town Square Tavern
Sat, July 28 Snowbird, UT – Snowbird Ski Resort – Snowbird Cool Air Series
Sat, Aug 4 Kokomo, IN – Performing Arts Center At Foster Park – Weberfest
Sun, Aug 5 Bluffton, IN – Kehoe Park
Sat, Aug 11 Indianapolis, IN – State Fair
Sun, Aug 19 North Thornton, NH – White Mountain Boogie n’ Blues Festival
Fri, Aug 31 Kansas City, MO – Crossroads Del Yeah Fest w/ Del McCoury Band
Sun, Sep 2 Cookeville, TN – Muddy Roots Fest
Fri, Sep 14 Bristol, TN – Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion
Sat, Sep 22 Tahlequah, OK – Sparrow Hawk Camp – Riverstomp Music Festival
Wed, Sep 26 Fayetteville, AR – Bikes, Blues and BBQ
Sat, Sep 29 Belfast, Ireland – Empire Music Hall
Sat, Oct 6 Katowice, Poland – Spodek Sporthall – Rawa Music Festival

Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

Stream the new Hives album ‘Lex Hives’

photo courtesy of Nordic by Nature

Just a little less than a week away from the release of the Hives’ new album, Lex Hives, we get a chance to preview it in full. The album sounds like a winner, and they have held their ground of pure awesome garage-rock, even for not having an album released in over 5 years.
Stream the new album Lex Hives here…

Enjoy the hell out of this!
Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

2:54 releases new album and music video today


With the release of 2:54‘s debut album today, they have given fans an awesome video to their new song “Creeping”. Hope you enjoy!
Also included some tour dates below…
05/31 London, UK – Rough Trade East (7:30PM)
6/7 London, UK – Scala
6/9 Brooklyn, NY – Knitting Factory
6/10 Washington, DC – Rocknroll Hotel
6/11 New York, NY – Mercury Lounge
6/13 Boston, MA – TT The Bears
6/14 Montreal, QUE – Divan Orange
6/15 Toronto, ONT – NXNE/Lee’s Palace
6/16 Columbus, OH – The Basement
6/17 Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
6/18 Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock
6/21 Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
6/22 Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge
6/23 Vancouver, BC – Biltmore
6/25 San Francisco, CA – Independent
6/26 Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
6/27 San Diego, CA – Casbah
Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

John Frusciante to release EP this summer ‘Letur-Lefr’

photo courtesy of Stereogum

Check out the brand new song “Glowe” which will appear on John Frusciante‘s (former Red Hot Chili Pepper’s guitarist) new solo EP, Letur-Lefr, later this summer. This first new is an instrumental wonder, which hopefully means the rest of the album is killer as well. Listen below to “Glowe”.

Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!